Special Education

Parent Rights

Santiago Charter Middle School is committed to providing a free, appropriate public education for all students in the least restrictive environment.  Placement and services for students with disabilities are assigned in accordance with a student’s Individualized Education Program (IEP), which is based on the student’s unique needs.

Goals

1.    Assist students to choose opportunities for success and development of self-advocacy.

2.    Commit to continued enrichment of skills and knowledge by special education personnel.

3.    Adapt as needed to serve an expanding and identified special education population.

4.    Expand inclusionary opportunities as appropriate.

Mission

1.    Provide support services per IEP for students with identified disabilities, enabling them opportunities for success in middle school.

2.    Satisfy legal mandates set by state and federal law (IDEA) regarding identified students with disabilities.

Special Education Staff

Kristi Franco – Program Coordinator

kfranco@orangeusd.org

(714) 997-6366 ext. 8597

 

Dana Whitlock – Department Chair

dwhitlock@orangeusd.org

 

Casey Adams – Teacher/Science

cadams@orangeusd.org

 

Jenny Grishaber – Teacher/History

jgrishaber@orangeusd.org

 

Mike Ohta – Teacher/Mild/Moderate Program

mohta@orangeusd.org

 

Sandra Snider – Teacher/Mathematics

ssnider@orangeusd.org

 

Wendi Johnson – School Psychologist

wajohnson@orangeusd.org

 

Lisa Garcia – School Nurse

lgarcia@orangeusd.org

 

Kelly Galloway – Speech Therapist

kelly.galloway@orangeusd.org

 

Kerrie Rowe – Occupational Therapist

kerrie.rowe@orangeusd.org

 

Cynthia Robles – IEP Scheduling and Translations

crobles@orangeusd.org

 

Nanette Proctor – Special Education Transportation and SEIS

nproctor@orangeusd.org

FAQ's

What is Special Education?

Special Education is specialized instruction provided for children from birth to age 22 who qualify according to the laws and regulations outlined by the state and federal government. A student may qualify for special education services as an individual with special needs in one of thirteen areas identified by the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). These are:

  • Autism
  • Deaf
  • Deaf-Blind
  • Emotionally Disturbed
  • Hard of Hearing
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Multiple Handicapped
  • Orthopedically Impaired
  • Other Health Impaired
  • Specific Learning Disability
  • Speech-Language Impaired
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Visually Impaired

Where can I find parent resources?

Our SELPA, El Dorado County Charter SELPA, has a great website with many parent resources.  Their website is http://charterselpa.org/parent-resources/